What Is Comprehensive Agreement On Bangsamoro

By adminNo Comments

On October 15, 2012, the Philippine government signed a high-profile document presented as a framework agreement on the Bangsamoro that culminated in the Aquino government`s efforts to end the blockade in the peace process. The new document, which only provides a general framework for the actual peace negotiations, announced that “the status quo is unacceptable and that the Bangsamoro should be created to replace the Autonomous Region of Muslim Mindanao (ARMM). The Bangsamoro was the new autonomous political entity (NPE) mentioned in the decision points of the April 2012 Principles. According to President Aquino, it was the agreement that “finally sealed a real and lasting peace in Mindanao.” [15] Bangsamoro replaced the ARMM, which was described by President Benigno Aquino III as a “failed experiment.” [16] The current Armm Charter lists 14 areas that do not fall within the competence of the regional legislature. In this comprehensive peace agreement, the parties list 81 powers reserved for the central government, classified exclusively for the Bangsamoro and at the same time categorized with both parties for power-sharing or shared by them. Of the 81 powers, 58 are transferred to the Bangsamoro, nine are reserved for the central government and 14 are shared. [2] The Framework Agreement on the Bangsamoro Annexes and four Annexes, namely transitional provisions and modalities, revenue generation and asset sharing, power sharing and standardisation, will be integrated into the global agreement together with the Bangsamoro Water Addendum. [3] The Philippine Armed Forces issued a red alert on March 24 in preparation for the event. Philippine President Benigno Aquino III, President Hadji Murad Ibrahim and Malaysian Prime Minister Najib Razak are among the personalities who will be present at the signing of the agreement.

Website Security Test
Blue Taste Theme created by Jabox